Never too Hot to Knit

I rarely leave the house without a little drawstring bag.  It’s light and portable.  I pull it out when I find myself waiting too long in line somewhere; or sitting on a bus or train; or visiting with friends.  Of course, this is my knitting bag.  Even during the dog days of summer, I’ll carry a light project with me — something lacy like a shawl, or small like a pair of socks.  Being able to knit keeps me from fidgeting or checking the time too often. It actually helps me to focus my attention on a conversation or listen to a podcast (one of my favourite pastimes!) without my mind wandering.

Following are a number of items I’ve been working on since we moved at the end of June.  I won’t go into much detail here because I’m a member of Ravelry, a fabulous social network for fiber enthusiasts.  If you are a knitter/crocheter/spinner yourself and have an account, please add me, jessibean, to your friends!

If you don’t have an account, you’ll be able to look at more photos and see more details about my projects by following the links I provide.

In chronological order:

1. A cardigan for me (now stashed until the mercury drops), from the pattern “Driven” by the gifted designer Veera Välimäki of 100% rain :

2. (left) A crescent shawl for a friend.  The pattern is “Daybreak” by Stephen West.                                   3. (right) A little vest for my little friend.  “Plain Vest” pattern by Anna & Heidi Pickles.

4. & 5. A couple of lace shawls: “Clothilde” by Kristen Hanley Cardozo and “Aestlight” by Gudrun Johnston. Both the yellow and the rusty orange will be gifts for friends, so shhhhh! don’t tell.

My next challenge is to design a shawl using a skein of my friend Joelle’s signature hand-dyed yarn.  Joelle is the brave soul who started her own business, Wandering Wool.  You need to look at Joelle’s Etsy Shop Right Now.

For motivation, I signed up for the Craftsy class “Lace Shawl Design” with Miriam Felton.  Here’s a tiny swatch of one of the motifs I think I’ll be using:

2 thoughts on “Never too Hot to Knit

Leave a Reply

